Bangladesh agrees to four transit routes to India

  • August 25, 2023
  • News

The Bangladeshi government has permitted four routes for the moving of goods to merchants in Tripura and other northeastern Indian states, the routes are Chittagong Port-Akhaura-Agartala, Mongla Port-Akhaura-Agartala, Chittagong-Bibirbazar-Srimantapur, and Mongla Port-Bibirbazar-Srimantapur.

Recently, the Industries and Commerce Minister of Tripura, Mr. Santana Chakma said that Bangladesh and India have discussed and agreed to allow Indian traders to ship consignments via the ports of Chittagong and Mongla ports in Bangladesh. The Govt. of Bangladesh has also sent notice of the four routes for the transshipment of goods by Tripura and other northeastern states. Furthermore, nine border haats will be created for mutual trade at the local level to benefit both parties.