Facts about Hazardous Freight Shipping

Shipping dangerous goods such as liquefied or compressed gas can be pretty risky and daunting. If you have the basic understanding of dangerous products and how it is shipped, these products can be uncomplicated. However, it is important to be aware of the potential liabilities and responsibilities.

What are Dangerous or Hazardous Materials?

Hazardous materials are substances that can pose unreasonable health, property, and safety risk when it is being transported. The items are flammable, toxic, or corrosive. There are about nine different classes of hazardous materials such as explosives, flammable liquids, oxidizing substance, corrosives, radioactive material, flammable solids, gasses, infectious substance and various other objects.

However, you need to keep in mind that there is no difference between hazardous material or dangerous goods.

Classification of Hazardous Material

Dangerous goods are usually classified in the same manner around the world. As per the UN regulation, it is classified into different classes that represent the similar kind of goods. Gasses make up the 2 group and have three sub-divisions.

  • 1 Flammable gasses
  • 2 Non-toxic gasses
  • 3 Toxic gasses

Some other descriptions of hazardous materials which you need to know have been given below.

The UN number is an exclusive identification number that relates the materials to a certain set of regulations. The common names of the items might differ around the world but the UN number will be the same.

The Packing group makes use of a primary identification of the danger level of a particular material as their hazard level. They are identified using roman numerals that are listed below.

  • I- Highly dangerous
  • II- Medium dangerous
  • III- Low Danger

Packing Groups decide on the right kind of packaging to provide maximum protection from spill and leakage. However, gasses are different since it is packed in cylinders and meet specific international standards. Packing group classification does not apply to gasses and this is the reason the field is always left blank.

The proper shipping name is the accepted name of the product and has a relation to the UN number. The technical name of the product is related to the proper shipping name.

Do You Need Special Certification for Shipping Dangerous Goods?

Whether you need a certification or not actually depend on where the goods shipped through the shipping services. The requirement of each and every shipment is different be it international or domestic. Shipping through air is the most restrictive means of transport for dangerous goods. In order to consign the goods to the aircraft, it has to be certified by the International Transport Association IATA. There is no difference between international and domestic flights and all of them have to adhere to the same regulation.

Over sea shipping is available for all kinds of calibration, pure gasses, and specialty. Ocean regulation is maintained by Maritime Organization. You need to complete the maritime order form to consign the dangerous goods through the ocean.

Road shipping cargo services are the easiest way to send dangerous goods since it requires no special certification. However, the dangerous goods course should be adhered to in case to plan on making regular shipments.

Post Author: 20Cube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *